Gwen Stefani's New Album is Like Reading Her Personal Journal.

Relationships are difficult, especially at the beginning and end, but having to deal with both heartache and new found love while in the public eye, that must be exceptionally challenging. When Gwen Stefani went through a divorce and found a new relationship in Blake Shelton, the whole world watched. Now, with her new album, This Is What The Truth Feels Like, we get a glimpse into what Gwen was feeling about it all.

This album is much like reading a personal journal. The lyrics are full of raw, sometimes chaotic emotions. It is exactly what I imagine going through a divorce, losing a great love, while realizing that love is developing elsewhere would feel like. It is all there in song, every little emotional, sometimes irrational thought. This is real true human emotion. While Gwen may have been holding it all together on stage, it is clear that she was being torn apart on the inside.

While the first single released from this album, "Used To Love You" was clearly directed at her ex, many of the other songs deal more with the struggle of feeling rescued, while also feeling trapped in the cycle of inescapable thoughts of new love. "Make Me Like You" plays this experience perfectly in an upbeat fun song that bounces from, 'I don't want this' to 'how can I be without this', certainly a feeling anyone that has fallen in love can relate to.

One of my favorite songs on this album is "Misery", with the refrain of "you're like drugs to me...hurry up come see me", it captures the essence of what it feels like to be so caught up in love that you actually need it to survive. This song, the first one on the album seems to encapsulate the whole story, the misery of a lost love, and the misery of realizing how much you need the new found love with the struggle and guilt of dealing with both feelings.

There are a lot of great songs on this album, but like any relationship, there are some moments that are a little awkward. The song "Red Flag" feels like I walked in on a private argument, and the best thing to do is turn around and walk back out. The song fits the story, but it's part of the story that I could have done without.

The album as a whole is good, and definitely worth the purchase, but is a far cry from her "Harajuku Girls" days, so don't expect any "oh that's my jam" party anthems to come from this one. What you do get, though is a light dance album with more of a kick back with a glass of whining with your best friend feel.

"Misery" is my favorite song on this album.

This Is What The Truth Feels Like
Track List
1. Misery
2. You’re My Favorite
3. Where Would I Be
4. Make Me Like You
5. Truth
6. Used To Love You
7. Send Me APicture
8. Red Flag
9. Asking For It
10. Naughty
11. Me Without You
12. Rare

This is What The Truth Feels Like is available on iTunes and with bonus songs at Target and there are a limited amount of bundles available on

Disclosure: I participated in this sponsored album review program as a member of One2One Network. I was provided the album to review but all opinions are my own.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! sing me a song.